Integrated Counseling & Testing Center

List of ICTC in Karnataka     ICTC Publication DAPCO Blog

ICTC: Integrated Counselling and Testing centre is a place where a person is counselled and tested for HIV, on his own free will or as advised by a Medical Provider.

Integrated Counseling and Testing Centre (ICTC) is a GATEWAY to PREVENTION, TREATMENT & CARE. ICTC have the following benefits.

  1. Increase awareness about HIV/AIDS and its modes of transmission.
  2. Strengthen prevention and facilitate behaviour change (risk reduction).
  3. Facilitate behaviour change in HIV-positive people.
  4. Counsel HIV-negative clients to remain negative life-long and HIV-positive clients to prevent the further spread of HIV (positive prevention) as well as access the continuum of care services.
  5. Help in acceptance and coping with one’s sero-positive status.
  6. Provide psychosocial support through referral to social peer support through District Level Networks.
  7. Identify the need for PLHIV requiring for prevention of Opportunistic Infection I(OI) prophylaxis and access to ART.
  8. Reduce parent-to-child transmission of HIV.
  9. Screen for TB symptoms and refer patients for diagnosis and treatment.
  10. Facilitate early management of HIV-related infections and STIs.
  11. Encourage orphan care.
  12. Increases the visibility of HIV in communities, thus ‘normalizing’ HIV/AIDS.
  13. The Laboratory Technicians are also performing Syphilis test, for the clients referred from STI clinic.

HIV positivity among General Clients (Non ANC) tested at ICTCs (including Client and provided initiated): (Figure 1): Bagalkot (10.5%) district had highest proportion of HIV positive cases, followed by Gadag (5.5%), Raichur (4.9%), Dharwad (4.9%), Bijapur (4.58%), Belgaum (4.4%), Koppal (4.3%), Bellary (3.8% ) and Mysore (3.5%) districts. Overall 3.3% of general client were HIV positive in Karnataka.

Counselling & Testing Of General Clients For HIV From April-13 To March-14

District Positivity
Dharwad 1.60%
Kodagu 0.90%
Bangalore Rural 0.80%
Bangalore Urban 1.40%
Tumkur 1.40%
Bellary 1.80%
Chamarajanagar 1.30%
Hassan 1.40%
Mandya 1.40%
Udupi 1.80%
Gulbarga 1.40%
Kolar 1.40%
Mysore 1.80%
Gadag 2.60%
Bijapur 2.60%
Shimoga 1.10%
Belgaum 2.80%
Ramanagar 0.60%
Koppal 2.70%
Haveri 1.40%
Chikkballapur 1.40%
Bagalkot 5.50%
Chikmagalur 1.40%
Davanagere 2.00%
Raichur 3.10%
Uttara Kannada 0.90%
Bidar 1.50%
Yadgir 1.80%
Dakshina Kannada 1.50%
Chitradurga 1.80%
Total 1.80%